GALLERY: Clubs and players celebrate at end of season awards bash

By Andy Sykes

Outstanding clubs and individuals were honoured at the West Lancashire League Presentation Night at Blackpool Football Club - the first for three years.

A host of awards were dished to those who excelled during the 2021/22 season from clubs, to goalscorers, referees, volunteers and committee members.

Thornton Cleveleys capped an amazing year by being crowned Club of the Year while Tom Hulme, from Rossendale FC, was named top goalscorer with 36 during the season.

Divisional winners Thornton Cleveleys, Milnthorpe Corinthians, Rossendale, Euxton Villa Reserves and Coppull United Reserves were honoured alongside runners-up, plus the winners of the league's cup competitions - Tempest United, Wyre Villa, Rossendale and Euxton Villa Reserves - collected their trophies.

Fulwood Amateurs were also celebrated for their Lancashire FA Amateur Shield victory over Slyne-with-Hest.

Referees Sam Oldfield and Joe Collier were named Referee of the Year and Young Referee of the Year respectively.

Rossendale took the Fair Play award for the best discipline record while Chris Hysted and Gordon Floyd, from Furness Rovers, were this year's Wilf Carr Loyalty Trophy winners.

Fred Yates received the Special Award for Services to the League while Steve Abbott, from Thornton Cleveleys, picked up the Special Award for Services to a Club.

University of Central Lancashire sports journalism student Theo Hewson-Betts received an ovation for his weekly match reports which have helped enhance the profile of the league during 2021/22.

The new season starts on August 6. Fixtures will be released in mid July.

GALLERY: To see Steve Taylor's full album from the Presentation Night, click here

Kathy Hysted

Craig Howard

Theo Hewson-Betts

Fulwood Amateurs

John Brown

Euxton Villa Reserves

Fred Yates

Young Referee of the Year Joe Collier

Where next?

Marshall: 'It’s an opportunity I couldn’t pass up' Jimmy Marshall admitted it was a wrench to leave his title-winning Milnthorpe Corinthians side – but said he couldn’t turn down the chance to manage at Kendal Town.
Four new clubs to join West Lancashire League Astley and Buckshaw, Pause United, AFC Blackpool Reserves and Holker Old Boy Reserves were elected on to the West Lancashire League for the 2022/23 season at the AGM.

West Lancashire Football League newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.